A Unit of the Sisters of St. Anne, Trichirapalli

Reaccredited III time at 'A' Grade by NAAC, with CGPA 3.36

Affiliated to Mother Teresa Womens’ University

Periyakulam – 625 601, Theni District, Tamilnadu, India.


Department of Physics blossomed as Major department in 1987 and flourished as PG department in 2005. It has well experienced and research oriented faculty, who have undertaken UGC sponsored Minor and Major Research Projects, published papers in National / International journals and presented papers in Conferences / Seminars held in India and abroad. Faculty members have wide repertoire in various fields of Physics and guide scholars for pursuing M.Phil. and Ph.D.
It has well established, separate UG, PG, Research laboratories with advanced equipments like Thin film coating unit, Ultrasonic interferometer, Four probe unit, Muffle furnace, Photoelectric effect setup, Millikan’s oil drop apparatus, Quincke’s apparatus etc., and highly specialized BSR lab shared with Departments of Chemistry and Zoology.
Guest lectures, Inter-collegiate competitions and National Seminars are conducted regularly to enable the students updated with recent trends in the subject as evinced by their paper presentations, publications and projects under Students Project Scheme of TNSCST.

Courses Offered

Course Year Established
B. Sc. Physics (Regular) 1987
B. Sc. Physics (Self Financed) 1993
M. Sc. Physics (Self Financed) 2005



Date Name of the Seminar/ Conference/Workshop Agency Level
23rd & 24th March, 2009 Recent Trends in physics UGC National
21st January, 2010 Intercollegiate Meet – Phyjac-‘10 JAC Regional
17th February, 2012 Intercollegiate Meet – Phyjac-‘12 JAC Regional
31st August, 2012 Popular Series Lecture-3 (Smart window materials) GRI National
5th &6th February, 2013 Recent Trends in Advanced Materials CSIR National



  • Dr. Mrs. M. Arulmozhi, Associate Professor


Name Title Agency Amount
Mrs. R. Mary Mathelane & Mrs. A. Clara Dhanemozhi State of the art technology of solar air heaters UGC (2007-’09) 60,000/-
Dr. Mrs. M. Arulmozhi Studies on some external perturbations in nano quantum wells UGC (2007-’09) 65,000/-
Ms. P. S. Swathy & Ms. Sumi Varghese (II M.Sc) (Guided by Mrs.Clara Dhanemozhi) State of the art solar air heater for rural small scale industries TNSCST (2007-’08) 5,000/-
Mrs. R. Mary Mathelane Comparative study of Aluminium and Silver thinfilms by PVD UGC (2013-’15) 2,00,000/-
Dr. Mrs. M. Arulmozhi Investigations on excitons in nanostructures UGC (2013-’16) 12,50,800
M.Meenakshi Sundari (Guided by Mrs.Clara Dhanemozhi) State of the art Solar air heater With evacuated tubes TNSCST (2012-13) 10,000
P.Kavitha & S.Suseela (Guided by Mrs. R. Mary Mathelane ) Preparation and characterization of Silver Thin Films by PVD TNSCST (2012-13) 10,000



i. Awards and recognition Received by the Faculty:

Name Award / Recognition Place
Sr. S. Jesurani Best – Women Achiever Maya Academy, Theni
Sr. S. Jesurani Best Paper Presentation award (2) 1.Loyola College, Chennai
2.J. A. College for women, Periyakulam
Mrs.A.Jacquline Regina Mary Organizing Commitee Member of the National conference on Digital Vision -2020 J. A. College for women, Periyakulam
Dr. M. Arulmozhi Best Paper Presentation award S. R. M University, Kattankulathur
Mock Peer Team Member for Re-accreditation by NAAC on 26.02.2010 Yadava College, Thiruppalai, Madurai – 14.
Member of External Question Paper Validation Committee on 27.03.2010 Lady Doak College, Madurai.
One of the experts in the discussion session on “Motivation to students towards research” in the National Level Seminar on “Recent Trends in Physics” during 29 & 30.12.2010 SFR College for Women, Sivakasi.
Assistant Chief Examiner (Hall No. 4 – Centre Code: 204, Jayaraj Annapackiam College for Women (Autonomous), Periyakulam) for TNPSC Group IV & Group VIII Exams, 07.07.2012 Tamil Nadu Public Service Commission, Government of Tamil Nadu.
Member of the Staff Recruitment Committee, 19-07-2012 St. Anne’s College of Education, Periyakulam.
Judge for “Puthiya Thalaimurai Aayudham Seivom’s “Veetuku Oru Vingnaani 2012” Science Fest, 27.07.2012 T. M. H. N. U. Matriculation Higher Secondary School, Muthudevanpatti, Theni.

ii. Awards and recognition Received by the Students:

Name Award Place
Best Postal Presentation(Rs.1000/-) MTU,Kodaikanal
R.Uma II M.Sc Physics Participated in the International Conference on “Smart Materials, Structures and Systems (ISSS)” Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
K.Vinisha Rani
First Prize in AD-ACT Competisition in “PHYONICS – 2008” N.M.S.Sermathai Vasan College for Women, Madurai.
First Prize for PG, Second Prize For PG, Second Prize For UG respectively in Regional Seminar on “Applications of Magnetic Materials” Arul Anandar College, Karumathur.
K.Krithika ,
K.Devi Karumari
First Prize in Dumb charade in “State Level Intercollegiate Meet – PHYSKNIT – 2K8”, Fatima College, Madurai.
First Prize in Phys querade in Intercollegiate Physics Meet “PHYXPLOSION ‘09” Lady Doak College, Madurai.
A.Anees Fathima
First Prize in Model display in Intercollegiate Physics Meet “FESTOPHYS ‘09” Gandhigram Rural University, andhigram.
R.Uma First prize in paper presentation in State Level Intercollegiate Student’s Seminar on “Physics of Smart Materials” Thiagaraja College of Arts and Science, Madurai
Participated in the state level symposium and Indelfes Competitions(Over all Shield) S.R.College for Women,Trichy
V. Buvaneswari
First prize, Third prize in Paper presentation respectively in the State Level Intercollegiate Student’s seminar on “ASTROPHYSICS” Thiagarajar College,Madurai
R.Manogowri Attended a Special camp at Delhi& Himachal Pradesh Representing MTU,Kodaikanal Best NSS Volunteer
UGC Merit Scholarship (Two Years) – Rs. 40,000/- per year UGC, Delhi
Mariyaniraimathi Best Speech (Rs.5000/-) MTU, Kodaikanal
A.Ansalna NCC “C” Certificate Examination certificate with “A” Grade


  • e-Career Pluz Info Private Ltd., Madurai.
  • J. K. Systems, Tirunelveli.


Prominent Alumni

  • P. Arunadevi, System Analyst, Polaris, USA.
  • B. Shanmuga Priya-Software Engineer, USA.
  • R. Uma-JRF, DRDO Project, S.R.M University, Kattankulathur, Chennai.
  • U. Narmatha-Cashier, State Bank of India, Andipatti.
  • M. Chitra-Assistant Professor, Government Polytechnic College, Madurai.
  • V. Buvaneshwari-Assistant Professor, PVP College, Singarakottai.
  • P. Helen-TCS, Team Leader, Chennai.
  • S. Karthiga, System Analyst, Sathyam Computers, Hyderabad.
  • S. Vinothini- Assistant Professor, PVP Engineering College, Singarakottai.
  • S. Dhivya, Assistant Professor, VPV College of Engineering, D.Vadipatty.
  • V. Deepa, System Analyst, WIPRO, Bangalore.
  • N. Sangeetha, Assistant Professor, NPR Engineering College, Natham.
  • Sudhanya, Assistant Professor, Sri Krishna Polytechnic College, Nilakottai.
  • T. Sathiya Sheela-Scientist, Kalpakkam.
  • R. Beaula Ruby Kamalam-Assistant Professor, The American College, Madurai.
  • Manimala, Assistant Professor, SRM Eswari Engineering College, Chennai.
  • B. Sharmila, Assistant Professor, Prince Venkateswara Engineering College, Chennai.
  • Krishna Priya-Assistant Professor, Maharaja Engineering College, Coimbatore.

Reach Us

Intercom. 04546231482-214
Email jacphy@annejac.com

Copyright 2019 © JAC All rights reserved.Webmaster: Rev. Sr. Dr. P. Helen Chandra, SAT

Powered By Elroi Software Solution